Tokyo Glow Maniacs

Ever dreamed of throwing a glow rave party with your friends in the park?  In Tokyo, you can do that!  It was a Saturday afternoon and after being out at the club all night, I was at a loss of what to do after sleeping half the day away.  By chance, I saw I got invited to a Facebook event called “Tokyo Maniacs: Party and Glow“.  In the event description, they talked about bringing glow sticks, glow body paint,  black lights and and bass for your “glowy pleasure”.  There was also the mention of free booze and pizza.  Naturally, I had to check it out, and I was not disappointed!!!

The event was even better than I had imagined!  I went there alone but walked out with at least 2o new friends, all of which I hang out and still keep in contact with!  There were a mix of foreigners and Japanese people.  We all had fun painting on one another and even had an epic watergun fight.  As is got dark out, our glow rings and body paint became illuminated under the dark sky.  It was a lot like being in a 90s music video.  The pizza was ordered under the name “Deez Nuts” so that got a lot of laughs.  I also met 2 guys that work for Square-Enix, and we talked about gaming endlessly!  The party went on until like 11pm in Yoyogi Park (one of the biggest parks in Tokyo) and no one kicked us out.  It was definitely my kind of party.

If you ever get invited to a glow or paint party, definitely go!  There is nothing that unites people like booze and body painting.  I am in the process of hoarding all of the most exciting Facebook events and blogging about them, so please let me know if you come across anything interesting in Tokyo that you want me to check out!

Leave a Reply

